City Living in Solitude

On a recent trip through a city, I realized something about me and people that live in the city center’s. “City people want to live alone but are afraid of the solitude.” Let me explain, in the city we move about our day and when returning home rush to get inside. Is this to avoid more human contact with the neighbor’s? I think so! All of the movement and action in a city allows one to be alone in a crowd, in a crowd one is not noticed like in a rural setting. In rural settings every move is noticed because so few exist. So we are more exposed. In the city we can move about barely noticed and live alone in large groups.

I moved away from the city 7 years ago and I realized this fact only last week. Now that I have experienced what true solitude is, I can not say I would ever live in that loneliness of the city again. It is dark and without feeling. The solitude of the middle of nowhere is like music, it is loud with life and peace at the same time. Your soul speaks and the people you have contact with are or seem more genuine.

If you live in the city…travel to a remote place and spend more than one day in this setting, and if you live in rural area go to the city and also stay for more than a day and observe what you see and feel. Then you may agree with my new mantra “City people want to live alone but are afraid of the solitude.”Storms

One thought on “City Living in Solitude

Leave a Reply

